Published: Wed, September 26, 2018
Sport | By Patty Hardy

Mo Salah wins FIFA Puskás Award

Mo Salah wins FIFA Puskás Award

Mohamed Salah controversially won the the Puskas award at the Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 on Monday night, and endured a cheeky dig from his Liverpool team-mate James Milner.

Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Best Men's Award for the last three years but looks like he and Lionel Messi are absent for tonight's grand award ceremony.

The award had been expected to be awarded to Gareth Bale for his overhead kick in the Champions League final against Liverpool, or Cristiano Ronaldo's spectacular effort against Juventus.

Finally, fans were confused about how David de Gea was named in the Team of the Year, but not in the top three keepers of the year.

Fifpro - world football's players" union - released four "reserve' teams in total, made up of the 44 players who didn't receive enough votes to make the first team.

Let's be honest, there were better goals scored in the past 12 months.


"And to score that many goals in England - this is a hard league the Premier League, that's why it's the best in the league".

Kane's other picks for manager of the year were World Cup victor Didier Deschamps and Premier League champion Pep Guardiola, and no doubt someone will find a way to spin this as a dig at Spurs manager Mauricio Pochettino.

"Good evening everyone. Nothing much to say about that but I'm very happy and very proud", Salah said after winning the Puskas award.

The Egypt global triumphed over nominees including Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale for his sensational overhead kick in the final of the Champions League.

So, see you same time next year?

Like this: