Published: Sun, December 02, 2018
Sport | By Patty Hardy

Euro 2020 qualifying: England drawn with Czech Republic and Bulgaria

Euro 2020 qualifying: England drawn with Czech Republic and Bulgaria

Back in the summer Gareth Southgate and his men almost brought football home, of course if football was actually the friends we made along the way then it did come home, or more like the enemies considering how irked everyone was by the song.

"The group is typically tough", said Germany head coach Joachim Loew, who is under pressure to bounce back after also crashing out of the World Cup in Russian Federation at the group stage.

Group A, featuring England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo, would arguably have been a more favourable draw for McCarthy's team.

The Republic of Ireland had initially been drawn into Group C but could not take a place there due to there being too many host countries in one group, so Mick McCarthy's team were instead placed in Group D alongside Switzerland, Denmark, Georgia and Gibraltar.

The Netherlands were the architects of Germany's downfall in the Nations League, claiming a win and draw against Joachim Loew's team to reach the Final Four of European soccer's new national team competition next June.

"We are improving as a team and we have huge motivation to get to the finals because we are a host city", Southgate said.

Wales will meet Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary and Azerbaijan in Group E while Scotland were drawn against Belgium, Russia, San Marino, Cyprus and Kazakhstan.

Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo.

Defending European champion Portugal was drawn alongside Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania and Luxembourg.

Wales face World Cup finalists Croatia, Scotland, who also have a play-off to look forward to if they don't qualify, are joined by Belgium and Russian Federation and Republic of Ireland are up against Switzerland and Denmark, who beat them in qualification for last summer's World Cup.

This is the only group without any 2020 host country: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia and Latvia.

Italy, which failed to qualify for the World Cup, is in Group J with Bosnia-Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia and Liechtenstein.

Qualifying group stage matches will commence in March 2019 and will end in November 2019.

The winners and runners up from each of the twelve groups will progress to the 24-team tournament.

Like this: