Published: Thu, December 06, 2018
Sport | By Patty Hardy

Los Angeles, New York among eight cities in new XFL

Los Angeles, New York among eight cities in new XFL

Houston will play at the University of Houston's stadium, Washington will play at the new home of the MLS' DC United, and Los Angeles will play at the StubHub Center, the soccer stadium that temporarily houses the L.A. Chargers and thousands of fans of whichever team is playing them.

XFL commissioner Oliver Luck has announced the eight cities that will host teams for the rebooted league in 2020.

The XFL will host a press conference today at 12 PM EST where they will announce eight teams and venues that will begin play in 2020.

First, what was learned about the XFL on Wednesday: Four of the teams - New York, Seattle, Tampa Bay and St. Louis - will play in stadiums that either house an National Football League team or recently housed one. XFL domain names for several other cities have reportedly been registered, hinting at possible future expansion.

It's still unclear what the nicknames will be for these teams, although the XFL's first run in 2001 included franchises in a few of these cities. Among them is a NY team based at MetLife Stadium. McMahon also said the game will be played faster-in about two hours-and more "fan-centric". The XFL returns on February 8th and 9th of 2020.

XFL announces eight teams, cities and stadiums for its return in 2020

He said that their ideas for the league and their reimagined version of football are now being tested. Teams will play a 10-game regular-season schedule and two-round playoffs in the months immediately following the National Football League season. The XFL wants to "compliment" fall football.

Luck says they will look for the best coaches and players available and majority will have college and National Football League experience.

"After months of research and consideration, we're thrilled to announce the cities and venues of the XFL's eight inaugural teams", Luck said.

Individual tickets are not on sale, but anyone interested in being an XFL fan can sign-up to be a season ticket holder on the XFL site.

Like this: