Published: Sat, January 05, 2019
Sport | By Patty Hardy

Retired Packers S LeRoy Butler misses cut for Hall of Fame finalists

Retired Packers S LeRoy Butler misses cut for Hall of Fame finalists

The inventor of the Lambeau Leap, LeRoy Butler, will have to wait for another chance at being named into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, as he was not one of the fifteen finalists. It's the sixth time the former Buccaneer and Bronco has been named a finalist. The contributing finalists are owner Pat Bowlen and executive Gil Brandt. Inductions will be on August 3 at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. The nine-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro won a Super Bowl in 2003 with the Bucs.

Law made five Pro Bowls and was a member of the 2000s All-Decade team.

Selected in the fifth round of the 1996 NFL Draft by Miami, he earned the starting middle linebacker job during training camp of his rookie year. All he did was go there and go to the Pro Bowl every single year he played. He finished his career in 1999 after his lone season with the New York Jets. He ended his career with one season in the desert in 2010, starting all 16 games. Current Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce took over the top spot with 103 receptions this season to break Gonzalez's record of 102 set in 2004.

Hopefully, we will get to see Zach Thomas in the Pro Football Hall of Fame before then.

Gonzalez's 1,325 career receptions are the second-most in National Football League history behind only Jerry Rice; his 15,127 career receiving yards are sixth-most all time and his 111 receiving touchdowns are eight-most all time.

If Reed is chosen for induction, he would become the third Hall of Famer who spent the majority of his career with the Ravens. Over his career, Reed had 64 interceptions for 1,590 return yards and seven touchdowns.

Lynch has plenty of competition among this year's finalists as there are four other defensive backs on the list: Steve Atwater, Ed Reed, Champ Bailey and Ty Law.

Like this: